Adventures in Card-Making

Heartfelt Creations – Adventure #2

Dear Friends,
There is a sign that I have hanging in my craft room that says:
“Create with all your heart and every card you make will be your own work of art.”
Believe it or not, this little quote invigorates the card-making slumps I sometimes succumb to.
People are always asking me where I get my card-crafting ideas and how do I keep coming up with new and innovative designs. I suppose, and I’m sure that every card designer will tell you the same thing, that I get a lot of ideas from craft magazines and of course, the internet.
I subscribe to CardMaker (CardMakerMagazine.com) and Paper Crafts (PaperCraftsMag.com) on a regular basis. My problem is that there are so many ideas that I become a frenzied crafter- what can I make now and what can wait until tomorrow?
After many attempts at organizing my stamping life, I decided to write all my ideas on a calendar. The first blocks of time were devoted to cards I HAD TO MAKE (you know the cards for the people in my life – family, relatives, co-workers (I should say former co-workers now!) and then the season of the year (holidays).
The “Thank You “cards came first. Some very generous and wonderful people in my life gave me some wonderful gifts upon my Retirement. I had to make each and every card special for them.
And I almost forgot! My new “toys” read tools come into play also. I just bought a Sizzix die cut called “book with flower” that I must try right now!
Till next time,
~Sallie

