Friday Scribblings

Scribblings- Dinner with a friend

friendshp

Dear Fellow Crafters,

     The following is a copy of a post from Uniquelyyourscraftjournal.com  about a man and his dining companion. Enjoy!

~Sallie

Dinner with a Friend

Remember that movie from years back called My Dinner with Andre’? I do. In fact it’s a favorite of mine.

I must confess that there are some people who I love having dinner with. Not lunch, dinner. Lunch somehow speaks a hurried meal, a “I’ll fit you in” kind of thing. Dinner alone, just the two of you, is different. Dinner says “come linger, spend some time, and let’s really talk” kind of thing.

There are only a few people I like having dinner with. They are usually old friends (some exceptions) and people I really don’t see that often. It always happens the same way. I’ll call them, or they’ll call me, and the words are: “Hey, let’s catch up.” Each one of these friends has their favorite restaurant and nothing ever has to be said about where we’ll meet, only what time.

On the appointed day, who ever gets there first places the drink order. With some friends, we meet in the bar, and migrate into dinner. With others, we just start in the dining room.

What’s surprising is how fast the conversation starts. After the exchange of pleasantries, we somehow almost seem to pick up where we left off X number of months ago. And away we go.

Sometimes, also surprisingly, the conversation “dies” after a few hours. But more often, we end up closing the place. Sometimes we even end up heading to a bar to finish our evening. It really doesn’t matter which. All that really matters is re-establishing the “connection.”

I REALLY enjoy these times, and always look forward to them. Often, I find myself looking at them mid conversation, and asking myself ‘Why don’t I see this person more often? They are fabulous!” Of course, there are also those rare occasions where you end up saying, “Time has passed on this friendship”, and you mentally “scratch” them off. Such is life!

So, who haven’t YOU had dinner with in a while? All you need to do is pick up the phone! Do it now, before you forget.

Copyright – 2014 by uniquelyyourscards.com

All rights reserved.

Excerpts and links may be used provided that full and clear credit is given to Sallie and uniquelyyourscards with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. You can reach Sallie at uniquelyyourscards@outlook.com

