Adventures in Card-Making

Paper Crafting 101 – Punch Happy

Dear Fellow Crafters,

Craft or paper punches for use in rubber stamping are available in a wide range of shapes and sizes. Punches vary from tiny, intricate designs to large bold shapes. In Part One of this post, I’ll talk about punches in general and some ways you can use punches. In Part Two, we’ll get into the different manufacturers and the type of punches they make.

The most common punch is the table punch. You place the punch on a hard, firm surface, place the paper inside and press down firmly. If a punch stops cutting clear shapes, they may need sharpening. Punch  a sheet of aluminum foil several times to sharpen the punch. You can also use wax paper to lubricate. The more intricate the shape of the punch, the more force is required to punch a clear shape.

In the beginning, I amassed a great many little punches: apples, stars,hearts etc. My collection grew when I visited The Great American Stamp Store in Westport CT. I was overwhelmed by the choices! There were so many small and big punches as well as stamps and paper products.

Here are a few uses for paper punches:

1.  Cut 3 or 4 green hearts to make shamrocks.

2.  Punched out circles make buttons

3.  Confetti

4.  Flower petals

5.  Background paper

In Part Two, we’ll explore the different shapes such paper corner, basic, extra-large multi-shape, border punches, squeeze punches, lever, and the ones I’ve bought.

‘Til next time,

~Sallie

 

 

 

Copyright – 2014 by uniquelyyourscards.com

All rights reserved.

Excerpts and links may be used provided that full and clear credit is given to Sallie and uniquelyyourscards with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. You can reach Sallie at uniquelyyourscards@outlook.com

 

 

One thought on “Paper Crafting 101 – Punch Happy

  1. I’m fascinated and elated but also lost and frustrated. I’m a button pushing, knob turning person who doesn’t understand computers very well. I don’t even know how I found your website… but AM SO EXCITED I found something and someone that does things I’m so wanting to learn to do. I only want in the Paper Crafting 101 (I think that’s all) but I have no idea how to get around. I keep looking for a contents section, or index, or a map. I want to start from page 1 and go forward. I can’t find it. I want to look at your lovelies and dream and wish and really hoping to learn anything. I suffer badly from A.D.D. and so hard to keep focused (surprised I have this long on 1 subject!) I get lost and am lost very easily. I have 1 child of my own and have literally raised 9 others. I’m nearly 50. I have lost all my family, one year at a time for the last 11 years. I found my childhood best friend sweetie after looking for 25+ years. We got married this July. I’m lost, emptied nested, but also blessed with a wonderful husband that built me a work bench, work shop area in our garage. But I have absolutely NO clue what to do here. I have inherited so many arts and crafts things and have narrowed it down some. But I don’t know what to do with them. I really think making cards and making someone smile in heart, mind and physically sounds great. Well I think I’m just rambling now. I love your detailed easy to understand instruction. I love your cards. I hope you enjoy tremendously your retirement Sallie! Thank you so much for sharing your talents. 🙂 Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Like

Comments are closed.