Pursuit of Happiness

Your long-lost and best possible self

Dear Fellow Crafters,

It’s January 2015 and time again for the Pursuit of Happiness post. I hope you like the themes I have chosen this year. If you have any comments, please feel free to share.

~Sallie

While on my weekend retreat in October, one of the retreat director’s request of us was to write a letter to ourselves. “Uh?” He told us that the purpose of the letter was to “remind yourself about the experiences you had on retreat and urge yourself to sign up again in the fall.”

I got to thinking about writing myself. The experience would not be full of Pinterest or surf-engineered images, but rather thoughts and feelings from my crafting life.

During the week between Christmas and New Years, I spend time in my studio cleaning and organizing things. I start schedules for projects. I gather topics for my blog and I think about the future. What do I want to accomplish this year? What mistakes can I learn from? Where am I headed?

Psychologists have written that to achieve our goals, letting go of past mistakes and envisioning future successes by expressive writing benefits not only our motivation but our health and emotional well-being as well. If you want to “clear the decks” for a brand new year and want to imagine the possibilities, my challenge to you and to me is as follows:

 Lost Possible Self : Write for about 20 minutes at a time about different crafting experiences for 3 days in a row. The experiences could be about classes you have taken/taught, sharing your craft with a friend/relative or just you and your favorite medium. The only rule is that during those experiences you have to keep in mind a goal that was once important to you and for some reason was unattainable. “If only” you had been able to attain the goal of your past experience what would our crafting life look like now?

 Best Possible Self: Write for about 20 minutes at a time for 3 days in a row. Think about your crafting life in the future. Imagine that everything has gone as well as it possible could. You’ve succeeded in everything you set out to do. Your “bucket list” has been achieved. Now write about what you imagined.

Copyright – 2015 by uniquelyyourscards.com

All rights reserved.

Excerpts and links may be used provided that full and clear credit is given to Sallie and uniquelyyourscards with appropriate and specific direction to the original content. You can reach Sallie at uniquelyyourscards@outlook.com

 

One thought on “Your long-lost and best possible self

Comments are closed.