craft stores

Craft Stores

Craft Stores

Dear Fellow Crafters,

     When I was getting ready to retire from my “day job” as a Senior Customer Service Rep for a large manufacturing firm, my co-workers started asking me which craft stores I shopped in. Now, they all knew I rubber stamped and die-cutted (is that a word?) because they had received greeting cards over the years. They didn’t really know where I shopped. My guess at the time (which proved correct) was that they wanted to give me some gift cards.

     I think we all have had that experience. My favorite “Brick and Mortar” stores are (in no particular order)  are Joanne, Michaels, Hobby Lobby and A C Moore. Each of these stores carry different inventory. For instance, my local Michaels, doesn’t carry a lot of rubber stamps, while Joanne’s does. Hobby Lobby carries different card stock and A C Moore has a lot of dies. Joanne’s carries Craft Magazines and Michaels does not. And the list of differences and similarities goes on.

     What motivates me to shop are several reasons – I’m running out of some particular item; I’ve got an occasion/holiday coming up; I’ve been commissioned by someone; a new die or stamp has been advertised.

     One tip for all of you is to set up an on-line account with your favorite store. A lot of time, that item you can’t find on the shelf is actually “on-line” and sometimes (Yeah!) it is on sale.  Please share your comments in the box below.

‘Til next time,

Sallie

