Teaching

Why I love teaching rubber stamping

Dear Fellow Crafters,

I have always loved sharing my crafting experiences with others. Lately, I’ve been sharing my excess paper with our Granddaughter and my journaling classes. I got to thinking the other day about why I love teaching rubber stamping and thought I would share what I have learned with you.

I have taught children (After-School Programs) and adults (Adult Ed Programs, Libraries, Clubs) and over the years have realized that the two groups are about the same in their motivations. Once presented with the techniques, both children and adults see the potentials. They also feel the apprehension of trying something new. One of my most reassuring slogans is “there’s no mistakes in rubber stamping.” It’s true. In another blog post, I will share what to do when you make a mistake.

Children get excited when they color images. They are in control and can manipulate the images. Overtime, I realized that a larger open-spaced image worked better with a younger group (ages 7-10) and used the now discontinued lines of Azadi Earles (Imagine That) and Darcie Hunter. The girls like to create scenes with the teddy bears and flowers and the boys like themed images like train sets and dinos.  Adults saw potentials in creating with the stamps and set about making wall art, stationery and unique greeting cards.

I never knew until the first class which registered students were “newbies or not. I love “newbies”. They have no pre-conceived notions or bad habits. They’re like sponges waiting to be exposed to the elements of ink, powder, heat, glitter and color.

I not only give a lot of hands-on info but get a tremendous amount of “give back” in new ways of creating an image or using a tool. When a student reaches the point of “I can do this” you know you’ve succeeded in not only sharing your love of crafting but given the students just the right amount of confidence to take them to the next step along their creative journey.

‘Til next time,

~Sallie

