How I solved _______________

How to pick rubber stamp images

Dear Fellow Crafters,

Years ago, when I was just starting out, I picked images I liked. I never really focused on a particular company (Hero Arts, Stampendous, Penny Black). I just picked out what I liked (as I just said!) I found to my dismay that I really needed to focus on my growing stamp collection. For instance, I had rubber stamps of birthday images but no sentiments, Christmas rubber stamps (snowmen, trees, candy canes) but no Holiday sentiments.  I began an inventory of my collection and that actually helped. I found that I could, in a pinch, make a birthday card with nicely stamped cake on it but I had to type, cut out and paste the sentiment inside the card, ’cause I could not write legibly. I could create a sentiment but could not draw a flower. That’s when organization finally kicked in.

I took a 3 ring binder and gathered dye ink and the stamps, I listed and stamped the image twice once on regular paper and the other on a blank index card. That way, if I needed to pick an image to correctly compliment a sentiment, I had the perfect size of the stamped image. Once I started die-cutting, I could tell which images fit an oval, scallop circle or frame.

I would suggest that a beginner collect birthday, holiday, flower images first, then sentiments. Keep your creative mind open for which images/sentiments are on sale and buy them. You never know when they will come in handy. Case in point: years ago I bought an image of Snoopy (Charlie Brown), used it with the children then forgot about it. This past year, when Charlie Brown’s movie came out, so too did my rubber stamp!

If you have any additional questions about beginning rubber stamping, just email me at uniquelyyourscards@outlook or comment below.

‘Til next time,

~Sallie

