Adventures in Card-Making · Perspectives · Teaching

Why I love teaching about die-cutting

Dear Fellow Crafters,

     Back in the day, when I was rubber stamping, I couldn’t understand the “pull” of die-cutting. In my mind, die-cutting was just rubber stamping in different colors. You stamp, you emboss, you color, you cut out. And then, I watched a HSN (Home Shopping Network) show that featured the Cricuit. I really wasn’t sure about it because for one thing, the cost was a little off-putting.

     I was teaching a rubber stamp workshop at a local Joanne’s one night and the Program Manager had a Cricuit on the bookcase. At the break, she gladly demonstrated her (the store’s!) new toy. I was hooked on die-cutting. The problem was, as I saw it, the many accessories you had to buy to make the products. I’m one of those crafters who wants to design and craft. Well long story short, I bought a Sizzix Big Shot and have never looked back.

     I really like die-cutting now there are so many web sites, retail outlets, and u-tube videos that fuel my imagination daily! So now, I incorporate die-cutting in my classes. Most crafters have die-cutting machines. What they really want now is ideas and tips on how to enhance their paper crafts. The students are very passionate and vocal about their machines and dies. I try to pick a holiday or event to help my students focus on what they want to accomplish. I enjoy watching their faces when I crank out an image, border or phrase and use it in a unconvential way. Crafters like to be challenged and when I suggest that they can decorate a journal cover, cover a candle or glass ornament with die cuts they now say “Why not!”

     Here are a few of my Mason Jar Creations, and yes they are made with rubber stamps and die-cuts.IMG_20140801_143940_102.  IMG_20140801_144602_801

Happy snowman
     Happy snowman
Snowmen love teddy bears too!
.  Snowmen love teddy bears too!
Getting ready for the big ride!
Getting ready for the big ride!

 

Happy Crafting,

~Sallie

One thought on “Why I love teaching about die-cutting

Comments are closed.