Perspectives

Getting ready for the craft fair

Dear Fellow Crafter,

For the past several months I’ve been crafting my heart out in preparation for the upcoming craft fair. This fair, which I participated in last year, is wildly popular and I made my table fee in just one hour last year. As I said last week, I started out with deciding what my inventory was and what categories needed to be “beefed up”. After some minutes, I determined that I needed more birthday, baby, thank you, anniversary, get well and Christmas cards.

Over the last year, I have acquired some new dies, stamps and papers and I definitely wanted to use them. I grabbed my magazines and started researching Pinterest  for ideas. Once I decided on the sketches, I got out my papers, dies, stamps and embellishments. After I made my newest cards from my previous “mistakes” I was ready to really begin.

Once I made the cards, I determined which ones needed sentiments. I don’t always make cards for sale without sentiments but sometimes you need to, for instance: special baby cards or sympathy cards. I use sentiments I have collected over the years. After printing them out, I have to cut them out and glue them onto background paper and then attach them to the cards. Some of the cards were stamped instead. I then stamped my hallmark on the backs of all the cards and priced them.

After cataloging the cards, I started paper crafting  – boxes, bags, tags etc. With only a few days to go, I got out my check list to check off items I would need to bring with me – change, table cover, calculator etc.  What I really like about preparing ahead of time is that I can now (almost) relax and enjoy my life.

Are any of you a craft vendor this  year? Write and tell us about your experiences.

Happy Crafting,

~Sallie

11 thoughts on “Getting ready for the craft fair

  1. Don’t forget the note pad or “Enter to Win” along with your fishbowl for all those EM addresses you’re going to get.

  2. Many thanks for this amazing posts. I was wanting to know whether
    you had been planning of publishing similar posts to
    this. Continue writing superb content articles!

Comments are closed.