Biggest Challenge

Finding time

Dear Fellow Crafters,

There’s a new television program on this season called “Timeless”. The premise is that a team travels back in time to prevent the bad guy from changing the events of the past so that the present remains intact. One of the first shows had the bad guy trying to change the events of the crashing of the Hindenburg.

We couldn’t control time then and we can’t now. Finding time to complete a “to do” list or planner notation is getting harder and harder for all of us. Life has a way of getting in the way when we’re trying to do something. We read newsletters, blogs, newspaper headlines and Facebook posts. Lots of us even schedule reading our emails at specific times and yet we all complain that when we spend time on the internet we “get nothing done.”

So, how do we find time to do everything (or rather some things) on our “To Do” lists?  To crafters, I would suggest organizing and labeling everything. I try to put away my stuff after a marathon of card making but sometimes I don’t. When that happens, I always want to ‘hit myself’ cause I make more work for myself. I have to put things away before I can enjoy myself.  One of the things that bugs me is all those paper scraps. You know the ones I mean. I finally started sorting them by color and type white core, textured, bold colored cardstock, etc. Some crafters use plastic bags but I found a photo box that did the trick for me. I just put the bigger sheets together in a large plastic envelope and the scraps in the box.  The regular sized 9 1/2″ x 11″ are stored in a paper sorter.

For those of you who have oodles of newsletters, blog posts, articles you want to read are they front and center on your desktop? Do you mean to read them “one day when you have time” but never seem to get around to it? Try reading a book that I found immensely helpful: “10 Minute Digital DeClutter: The Simple Habit to Eliminate Technology Overload” by S.J. Scott and Barrie Davenport.

Happy Crafting,

~Sallie

