Adventures in Card-Making · How I solved _______________

Color pencils

Dear Fellow Crafters,

I’ve been coloring in adult coloring books for a little over a year now and I’m still in love with it. In the beginning, I admit, I bought whatever brand of color pencils was on sale. Now that I’ve advanced to the intermediate stage I decided to update my colored pencil collection. But what to buy? There are so many different brands in the market place now. As usual, I did some research and here’s what I discovered:

There’s a set from Crayola Twistable Colored Pencils which includes about 30 pencils. According to my source, they’re about $7 on Amazon and do not need sharpening! The color applies to the pages very smoothly somewhere between a crayon and a pencil, but it’s hard to get a good tip on them and they also do not have any labels on them making it hard to tell what color they are.

Pentel Arts Color Pencils are about $8 and the set comprises of 24 pencils in rather hexagon tubes. They are easy to blend and go on smoothly but there’s not many of them so your color choices are limited.

Prismacolor Premier Colored Pencils start around $19.99 for a set of 72- Obviously a variety of colors.They go on smoothly and are easy to layer. They also can be used over markers.

I might just have to buy the set from Koh-I-Noor Tri-Tone. They sound intriguing. Apparently, they come in a set of 12 assorted colors and have 3 colors in each tip, creating way cool effects.

Then there’s Sargent Art Colored Pencils. Their set of 24 sells for about $7. You have to sharpen them but the colors are vibrant and the pencils are easy to hold.

Crayola Colored Pencils are definitely for beginners. They sell on Amazon for about $10. There are 24 in the set with a great color palette. They don’t blend well.

Artist’s Loft is a basic set that you can get at Michael’s. There are 36 in the set and they’re easy to layer. The only thing is you have to sharpen them often.

Derwent Coloursoft Pencils are sold in a tin of 12 pencils. They’re more “artistic” pencils that can blend.

The Faber-Castell Color Pencil Set is comprised of just 5 pencils with a sharpener, brush, instruction book , embossing plate and papers. You can probably buy more colors on-line.

Prang Colored Pencils are a basic set for students. The set consists of 12 pencils for about $3. They are not great on quality as my source says that they smear.

Studio Series Colored Pencil set includes 30 pencils, a sharpener and an eraser. There is a great color selection but the eraser does not live up to its reputation  and if you decide to layer colors, the original color can be still seen on the bottom.

The Faber-Castell Polychromos pencils are soft pigmented pencils which layer well and there is a huge selection of colors.

As you can see, there are many types of pencils to choose from. I chose to go with the Crayola Twistables  and keep my originals from Michaels in good shape.

~Sallie

 

 

 

 

