Tutorial

Stitch on Cards?

Dear Fellow Crafters,

When I first heard about this idea I broke out in hives! Oh no, not literally. Let me explain. When I was in High School, my mom decided that I needed to learn how to sew even though we didn’t own a sewing machine. I was studying to be a teacher so my curriculum did not include home economics classes. “Oh no problem”, my Mom told me. ” You can take a summer school class.” Great idea I sarcastically told myself. That summer I took the class which, if I remember right, lasted 5 long weeks. The objective of the class was to make a dress. My dress was made of black velveteen with long sleeves and a collar. I won’t go into all the gruesome details of choosing the right material, thread, buttons, lace etc. and of course the seemingly impossible blueprint (er, pattern). THE DRESS was eventually made and I did wear it on several occasions but I left it in my closet when I went off to college and contented myself with the “art of replacing buttons and hemming.”

Luckily, when researching this topic, I found the perfect way for non-sewers to stitch on cards – Faux Stitching. According to Splitcoaststampers it’s really easy and all you need are a paper piercing tool and mat, template, marker and cardstock. The link shows the step by step instructions. There’s also a video and other stitches you can make. Non-sewers Rejoice!

http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/resources/tutorials/faux_stitching/

‘Til next time,

~Sallie

One thought on “Stitch on Cards?

Comments are closed.