Adventures in Card-Making · How I solved _______________

Recycled United States postage stamps

Dear Fellow Crafters,

When I was growing up, my dad worked for an international insurance company. His father, who also worked for the same company loved collecting postage stamps. My dad and I used to pour over those stamps and I started a small collection myself. When they traveled to distant lands, they always wrote me a letter or postcard so that I would have a postage stamp from that country.

Years later when I was married and had become interested in rubber stamping, I was reintroduced to the world of stamp collecting.  Hero Arts Rubber Stamp Company introduced faux postage stamps and envelope set and I remember going through my memory box to see if I had kept any of the old stamps. Not many had made the trip to adulthood but that didn’t stop me. I started again with holiday postage stamps.

I didn’t want the beauty and memories to disappear so I began a hunt to discover ways to use recycled postage stamps.  These are a few ideas:

Mod Podge and postage votive . This idea comes from Hammer Like a Girl.

http://modpodgerocksblog.com/2014/08/diy-votives-vintage-candle-holders-made-from-glamsses.html

You can bet that I’m adapting this idea for use with a mason jar.

Patriotic Postage Stamp Magnets. This idea comes from CraftJournal. Here’s the link.

http://craftyjournal.com/patriotic-postage-stamp-magnets/

and finally, the easiest one of all – a bookmark. This idea comes from ThinkCrafts.

http://thinkcrafts.com/blog/2014/08/14/stamp-collector-bookmark/

Happy Crafting,

~Sallie

One thought on “Recycled United States postage stamps

Comments are closed.